Did I just do that??

Hey Folks!

Beautiful day out in Mass today (specifically Brockton). Can’t wait to get out of this office so I can enjoy some time outdoors!!!

Before I get into what exactly I got myself into yesterday, let’s back track a bit to an amazing dinner I made; courtesy of my big sis Lili! She’s made this plenty of times before and we can never get enough of it. This recipe is adapted from a recipe she found in a magazine that we just can’t remember the name of. Supper Yummy dinner:

Seafood Pasta

Sorry for the bad picture! This had to be taken on my phone at work (leftovers) since I was a bad blogger and left my memory card reader at home 😦

Ingredients include:

  • Shrimp (1/2 lb)
  • Scallops (1/2 lb)
  • Spinach (3-4 cups, could be more cause they wilt down a lot)
  • Whole Grain Pasta (1/2 a box)
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Gorgonzola Cheese – 3 tablespoons (or to taste)
  • Low Fat Pesto Sauce – 3 tablespoons (or to taste)
  • Various seasonings (salt, pepper, dill, garlic powder, onion powder, etc.)

It’s really simple to make! Just saute the shrimp and scallops with the said seasonings. Once they cook threw (shrimp is a light pink) add in the spinach to wilt. In the meantime, have your pasta cooking. Once pasta is done add that to the seafood mixture and add in the gorgonzola and pesto and cherry tomatoes and mix it all together!

SCRUMPTIOUS!!!  – If you try it, please let me know what you think and if you too made any alterations to the recipe 🙂

So, about yesterday. As you all know yesterday was my Week 1 Day 2 training for the C25K program. My sister and our friend Manny was already planning their run so I decided to join them. We have a local park that if ran 1/2 way is 2.2 miles and the entire path is 3.6 miles.

Once we got there, my sister persuaded us to run the entire thing!!! I insisted that I was staying on track with my training and was going to run for 60 secs and walk for 90 secs alternating for a total of 20 minutes!! AND THAT’S THAT!!

Yea…RIGHT! Not even 5 minutes into my run, I got frustrated with having to hold out my iPod to see where I was on time. I said “FORGET THIS” and just started jogging. And I’m sure you can forsee the ending to this story…

I did the entire 3.6 mile run in 45 minutes!!!!!!!!!!!! WOOOHOOOOOOO! I was so proud of myself. I stopped a few times to catch my breath but the majority of it was a slow-paced jog. Never in my wildest dreams did I think I would be able to finish that entire path! It always seemed so beyond what I could do at this point. But I did it! And so did my sister and Manny! It was a first time for all of us and I am so glad that my sister pushed me to do it.

Thanks big sis!

2 thoughts on “Did I just do that??

Leave a Reply

